Make spider form move at normal speed
authorChris Campbell <chriscampbell89@gmail.com>
Sun, 25 May 2014 03:20:41 +0000 (04:20 +0100)
committerChris Campbell <chriscampbell89@gmail.com>
Sun, 25 May 2014 03:34:24 +0000 (04:34 +0100)
Without giving movement speed it's still an easily castable form that
provides a lot of early damage and evasion. The movement speed made it
much stronger by also being a reliable escape, and was problematic in
some of the same ways as old Swiftness.

crawl-ref/source/dat/descript/spells.txt
crawl-ref/source/player.cc

index 1bded3f..db2e5cc 100644 (file)
@@ -1139,8 +1139,8 @@ volatile of magics cannot be imbued in this fashion.
 %%%%
 Spider Form spell
 
-This spell temporarily transforms the caster into a swift, venomous (but
-poison-susceptible), spider-like creature. Spellcasting is slightly more
+This spell temporarily transforms the caster into a venomous (but
+poison-susceptible) spider-like creature. Spellcasting is slightly more
 difficult in this form.
 %%%%
 Spit Acid spell
index 2a52020..fc32bb0 100644 (file)
@@ -2244,9 +2244,7 @@ int player_movement_speed(bool ignore_burden)
     int mv = 10;
 
     // transformations
-    if (you.form == TRAN_SPIDER)
-        mv = 8;
-    else if (you.form == TRAN_BAT)
+    if (you.form == TRAN_BAT)
         mv = 5; // but allowed minimum is six
     else if (you.form == TRAN_PIG)
         mv = 7;