Squash plusses on boring items (Hirsch)
authorNicholas Feinberg <pleasingfung@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Jun 2014 04:52:04 +0000 (21:52 -0700)
committerNicholas Feinberg <pleasingfung@gmail.com>
Tue, 24 Jun 2014 04:55:15 +0000 (21:55 -0700)
The intent seems to have been to simulate 'mundane' good/bad items,
but in practice they encouraged trying on every found armour in the
hope of scrounging out a few points of AC, early on.

crawl-ref/source/makeitem.cc

index ebc4a9f..7b1b173 100644 (file)
@@ -2828,6 +2828,13 @@ int items(bool allow_uniques,
     // Set brand appearance.
     item_set_appearance(item);
 
+    // Squash plusses on boring equipment.
+    if ((item.base_type == OBJ_WEAPONS || item.base_type == OBJ_ARMOUR)
+        && item.plus > 0 && !get_equip_desc(item))
+    {
+        item.plus = 0;
+    }
+
     if (dont_place)
     {
         item.pos.reset();